How Maker Education shaped my teaching

As CEP 811 comes to a close, I am asked to reflect on how my experiences during the class have or will influence my work as an educator. The answer is simple, this class has forced me to examine each project with a critical eye. Are my students benefiting from this lesson How is this lesson building upon their critical thinking skills? Am I demonstrating to my students how to use their previous knowledge to enhance their learning environment. My goal is to help students become critical thinkers who use skills to solve problems locally and globally. The best way to enhance my education environment is to integrate technology. Technology is an ever-changing field, so I have to do my due diligence in keeping up with the times.

I created an infographic that illustrates the key ways that Maker Education forces you to perceive  the conventional lesson plan. Education is no longer on the path of route memorization. It has taken the path that embraces collaboration, self-directed learning, feedback and sharing.

As my first professor at College for Creative Studies told my class on the first day, “No one is an island.”

how-makered-sha_18875950_1a9ad87ad05786343864fbb03537e7287e1932d9

 

 

 

Leave a comment